
 

 

ARKANSAS BOARD OF DISPENSING OPTICIANS 
Post Office Box 627 
Helena, AR 72342 

 Fax Line:  (870) 572-2847 
 

RENEWAL FORM FOR:           LICENSED DISPENSING OPTICIAN 
                            REGISTERED DISPENSING OPTICIAN 
                 APPRENTICE DISPENSING OPTICIAN 
 

1. Please type or print clearly. 
2. Answer all Questions 
3. Do not duplicate addresses.  Your home address, business and/or employer’s address must be 

included on this renewal form. 
4. Each renewal application must be accompanied by a check or money order in the amount of $60.00 

(sixty dollars), payable to the Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians and a 1” X 1” colored 
photo.  If the photo is too large to be used on the badge.  Your application will be returned. 

5. Pursuant to Ark. Code Anno. § 17-89-308 (b), you must include proof of FOUR (4) hours of live 
continuing education credits obtained during July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016. YOU MUST ENCLOSE 
THE PROOF OF ATTENDANCE SLIP THAT YOUR WERE GIVEN AT THE MEETING YOU 
ATTENDED TO RECEIVE THESE HOURS.  THIS IS THE ONLY PROOF OF EDUCATION FORM 
THAT WILL BE ACCEPTED. 

6. The effective dates of the renewal badge are July 1, 2016, through June 30, 2017.  Your renewal 
application, 1” X 1” colored photo, and $60.00 (sixty dollars) payment must be postmarked or received 
by the Board Office no later than June 10, 2016.  Upon verification of your renewal applicant, fee 
payment and continuing education hours, a renewal badge will be mailed to the home address listed on 
your renewal application.  You must wear this badge any time you are working as optician July 1, 2016 
- June 30, 2017. YOUR BADGE WILL NOT BE RENEWED IF YOUR QUARTERLY SUPERVISION 
REPORTS ARE NOT ON FILE. 

7. If you fail to complete renewal of your license before July 1 your certificate is INVALID and you 
MAY NOT DISPENSE EYEWEAR in the State of Arkansas.  To do so will be considered to be 
practicing without a license. 

8.  Your renewal application must be received (or postmarked) with renewal fee no later than June 
10, 2016.  If your renewal application is postmarked after June 10, 2016 and is received in the Board 
Office after June 30, 2016, the following penalties apply and must be paid prior to renewal of you 
license. If you know your registration is late, please include the penalty payment with your application 
fee.   Late penalties will be strictly enforced.  To avoid late penalty the Board Office must receive your 
completed renewal application and fee by June 30, 2016. 
Payment Received:      July 1 – July 31, 2016                           ADD $25.00 

                                                 August 1 – August 31, 2016                ADD $50.00 
                                                 September 1 – September 30, 2016              ADD $75.00 

9. Pursuant to Board Rule 11.9 effective July 1, 2005, if said licensed, registered, or apprentice 
certificate is not renewed and the penalty paid by September 30, 2016, the licensed, registered, or 
apprentice certificate will become inactive.  You MAY NOT DISPENSE EYEWEAR in the State of 
Arkansas.  To do so will be considered to be practicing without a license.  An inactive license 
may be subject to reinstatement for a period of two (2) years pursuant to Board Rule 11.9.4.   

10. If the name of the optical dispensary in which you work does not contain the proper name of an 
Arkansas optometrist or physician skilled in the disease of the eye or a licensed or registered optician 
holding a certificate of licensure or registered in the State of Arkansas, the attached certificate of 
ownership must be completed and returned along with this application. 

 
RETURN APPLICATION TO:  Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians 
     Post Office Box 627 
     Helena, Arkansas  72342 



 

 

RENEWAL APPLICATION Date_______________ 
You are applying to renew your certification as a(n): 
 
           (   )  Licensed             (   ) Registered            (   ) Apprentice Optician 
 
Certificate Number ______________________     Date of Issue ___________________ 

Name:  _______________________________________________________________ 
    (FIRST)   (MIDDLE)   (LAST) 

Date of Birth: ____________________ Social Security #________________________ 

Home Address: __________________________________________________________ 
                (STREET and APT # or P. O. BOX)  

                         __________________________________________________________ 
               (CITY)  (STATE)  (ZIP) 

Home Phone:  (____) _____-___________ E-Mail Address:  _______________________ 

Fax Phone:     (____) _____-___________ 

YOU MUST INCLOSE PROOF OF YOUR FOUR EDUCATIONAL HOURS  

_________________________________________________________________ 

EMPLOYER INFORMATION:  (If self employed, skip to Business Information). 

Name of Business:  ______________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Business Owner: ________________________________________________________________ 
                                  (FIRST)   (MIDDLE)   (LAST) 
 
Name of Supervisor:  ____________________________________________________________________ 
                                (FIRST)   (MIDDLE)   (LAST) 
 
Business Physical Address: ______________________________________________________________ 

                      _______________________________________________________________ 
                        (CITY)  (STATE)  (ZIP) 

Business Mailing Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

                      _______________________________________________________________ 
                        (CITY)  (STATE)  (ZIP) 

Business Phone:  (_____) ____________________  Business E-Mail: _______________________________ 

BUSINESS INFORMATION 

Name of Business:  ______________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Business Owner/Title: _____________________________________________________________ 
                                           (FIRST)                              (MIDDLE)   (LAST)             (Title) 
 
Name of Business Manager/Title:  ___________________________________________________________ 
                                            (FIRST)  (MIDDLE)   (LAST)              (Title) 
 
Business Physical Address: ______________________________________________________________ 

                      _______________________________________________________________ 
                        (CITY)  (STATE)  (ZIP) 

Business Mailing Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

                      _______________________________________________________________ 
                        (CITY)  (STATE)  (ZIP) 

Business Phone:  (_____) ____________________  Business E-Mail: _______________________________ 



 

 

Are you employed by an Arkansas licensed optometrist or physician skilled in the diseases of the 
eye?                                          (   )  yes                        (   )  no 
 
IF YOU ARE A LICENSED OR REGISTERED OPTICIAN, LIST BELOW THE NAMES AND CERTIFICATES NUMBERS OF THE 

APPRENTICE OR STUDENT OPTICIANS WHO ARE WORKING UNDER YOUR DIRECT PERSONAL SUPERVISION. 
 
Name ____________________________________   Certificate Number ______________ 

Name ____________________________________   Certificate Number ______________ 

Name ____________________________________   Certificate Number ______________ 

Name ____________________________________   Certificate Number ______________ 
 
IF YOU ARE AN APPRENTICE OPTICIAN, LIST BELOW THE NAMES AND CERTIFICATE NUMBERS OF THE LICENSED 

OR REGISTERED OPTICIAN SUPERVISING YOU AS AN APPRENTICE OPTICIAN. 
 
Name ____________________________________   Certificate Number ______________ 

Name ____________________________________   Certificate Number ______________ 

Name ____________________________________   Certificate Number ______________ 

Name ____________________________________   Certificate Number ______________ 
 
If you work in more than one location complete the information below. 
Location 2:  If you work at more than 2 locations, please list on another sheet an enclose. 
Name of Business:  ______________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Business Owner/Title: _____________________________________________________________ 
                                           (FIRST)                              (MIDDLE)   (LAST)             (Title) 
 
Name of Supervisor/Title:  ___________________________________________________________ 
                                            (FIRST)  (MIDDLE)   (LAST)              (Title) 
 
Business Physical Address: ______________________________________________________________ 

                      _______________________________________________________________ 
                        (CITY)  (STATE)  (ZIP) 

Business Mailing Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

                      _______________________________________________________________ 
                        (CITY)  (STATE)  (ZIP) 

Business Phone:  (_____) ____________________  Business E-Mail: _______________________________ 

AFFIDAVIT FOR LICENSE RENEWAL 
I, the undersigned applicant for renewal of licensure, hereby certify that the information on this 

renewal form submitted for purpose of renewal of my licensure, registration, or apprenticeship 
pursuant to Ark. Code Anno. § 17-89-101 et seq. is true and correct.  I further understand that if the 
information is not true and correct that pursuant to the Section 15 of the Rule of the Arkansas Board 
of Dispensing Opticians any license, registration or apprentice issued to me may be suspended or 
revoked and that criminal penalties may also apply. 
 
_____________________________________                    _____________________ 
     (Signature of applicant)                                                                          (Date) 
 


